Intrust Super Premiership NSW

The Intrust Super Premiership NSW is the state's premier men's open-age competition, directly feeding into the NRL.

The NSWRL entered a new era in 2016 with the announcement of Intrust Super as naming-rights partner of the blue-ribbon competition, which has previously been known as Reserve Grade, Presidents Cup, NSWRL First Division, NSWRL Premier League and the NSW Cup. Featuring dozens of NRL-contracted players every weekend and 12 proud clubs, the competition regularly presents high-quality Rugby League to audiences across Sydney, Wollongong, Newcastle, Canberra and Auckland.

Click here for the Intrust Super Premiership NSW Draw and Results

Click here for the Intrust Super Premiership NSW Ladder

In 2017, the competition was more even than any other season in recent memory; it saw eight regular-season draws compared with just one in 2016. It continued to be a vital pathway to the NRL; of the 61 NRL debutants in 2017, 37 came directly via the NSWRL pathway and had played in the Intrust Super Premiership NSW prior to making their name on the big stage.

The Penrith Panthers are the current premiers, having defeated the Wyong Roos 20-12 in the 2017 decider at Leichhardt Oval. A week later, they progressed to the NRL Intrust Super State Championship on NRL Grand Final Day, where they defeated Queensland's Intrust Super Cup Premiers the PNG Hunters 42-18. It was the second time the NSW premiers have beaten their interstate counterparts in the four-year running of the competition.

Founded: 1908
Clubs: 12
Feeds Into: NRL
Most Successful Club: South Sydney Rabbitohs (21 premierships)
Current Premiers: Penrith Panthers
Hashtag: #IntrustSuperPremiership


Year Premiers
1908 Eastern Suburbs
1909 Eastern Suburbs
1910 Eastern Suburbs
1911 Eastern Suburbs
1912 Glebe
1913 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1914 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1915 Balmain Tigers
1916 Balmain Tigers
1917 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1918 Glebe
1919 Glebe
1920 Glebe
1921 Glebe
1922 Newtown Jets
1923 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1924 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1925 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1926 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1927 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1928 Balmain Tigers
1929 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1930 Balmain Tigers
1931 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1932 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1933 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1934 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1935 Eastern Suburbs
1936 Western Suburbs Magpies
1937 Eastern Suburbs
1938 St George Dragons
1939 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
1940 North Sydney Bears
1941 Balmain Tigers
1942 North Sydney Bears
1943 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1944 Balmain Tigers
1945 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1946 Balmain Tigers
1947 Newtown Jets
1948 Newtown Jets
1949 Eastern Suburbs
1950 Balmain Tigers
1951 Newtown Jets
1952 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1953 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1954 Manly Sea Eagles
1955 North Sydney Bears
1956 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1957 Balmain Tigers
1958 Balmain Tigers
1959 North Sydney Bears
1960 Manly Sea Eagles
1961 Western Suburbs Magpies
1962 St George Dragons
1963 St George Dragons
1964 St George Dragons
1965 Balmain Tigers
1966 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1967 Balmain Tigers
1968 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1969 Manly Sea Eagles
1970 Newtown Jets
1971 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
1972 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
1973 Manly Sea Eagles
1974 Newtown Jets
1975 Parramatta Eels
1976 St George Dragons
1977 Parramatta Eels
1978 Balmain Tigers
1979 Parramatta Eels
1980 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
1981 Western Suburbs Magpies
1982 Balmain Tigers
1983 South Sydney Rabbitohs
1984 Balmain Tigers
1985 St George Dragons
1986 Eastern Suburbs Roosters
1987 Penrith Panthers
1988 Manly Sea Eagles
1989 North Sydney Bears
1990 Brisbane Broncos
1991 North Sydney Bears
1992 North Sydney Bears
1993 North Sydney Bears
1994 Cronulla Sharks
1995 Newcastle Knights
1996 Cronulla Sharks
Presidents Cup 1997-1998
1997 Parramatta Eels
1998 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
NSWRL First Division 1999-2002
1999 Parramatta Eels
2000 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
2001 St George Illawarra Dragons
2002 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
NSWRL Premier League 2003-2007
2003 Canberra Raiders
2004 Sydney Roosters
2005 Parramatta Eels
2006 Parramatta Eels
2007 Parramatta Eels
Renamed NSW Cup 2008-2015
2008 Wentworthville Magpies
2009 Bankstown City Bulls
2010 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
2011 Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
2012 Newtown Jets 
2013 Cronulla Sharks
2014 Penrith Panthers 
2015 Newcastle Knights
Intrust Super Premiership NSW 2016-
2016 Illawarra Cutters
2017 Penrith Panthers