Ron Massey Cup

The Ron Massey Cup is a semi-professional Rugby League competition – the second-tier competition for NSWRL Seniors – with clubs and players feeding into the Intrust Super Premiership NSW.

Named after former Rugby League coach Ron Massey, the competition dates back to 1963, when founded by the NSWRL as the then-Inter-District Competition.

The 2017 edition of the Ron Massey Cup saw the number of teams vying for the prize reduced from 13 –  as it was in 2016 – to 10, though the quality on show was far greater than ever before.

Winning through to a preliminary final showdown after their finals Week One success over the Hills District Bulls, the Magpies scored a second convincing win in as many outings, earning a place in the competition decider against opponents, the Auburn Warriors.

The Warriors also piled on the points in their Ron Massey Cup Grand Final qualifier, winning 31-12 over an undermanned St Marys side, who had provided talent to the Penrith Panthers Intrust Super Premiership NSW team that weekend.

A dominant performance from the first whistle though until the last saw the Magpies run in six-tries-to-one in the 38-4 win, as Danny Barakat and Nicholas Kassis each crossed for doubles. Captain Taniela Lasalo bagged a try, before Joshua Minhinnick capped a big win in style with a long-range try in the 74th minute.

The Ron Massey Cup premiership win was the fifth in the club’s history, and their first since the 2013 Grand Final win over Mounties.


Founded: 2003
Clubs: 10
Feeds Into: Intrust Super Premiership NSW
Most Successful Club: Wentworthville Magpies (five premierships)
Current Premiers: Wentworthville Magpies
Hashtag: #RMCup


Year Premiers
2003 The Entrance Tigers
2004 Sydney Bulls
2005 Windsor Wolves
2006 Sydney Bulls
2007 The Entrance Tigers
2008 Windsor Wolves
2009 Wentworthville Magpies
2010 Wentworthville Magpies
2011 Cabramatta Two Blues
2012 Wentworthville Magpies
2013 Wentworthville Magpies
2014 The Entrance Tigers
2015 Mounties
2016 Mounties
2017 Wentworthville Magpies