You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

By Jamie Anderson at Morry Breen Oval

The Wyong Roos kept their faint finals dreams alive with a 40-18 win over the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs on Sunday at the Roos home ground.

The Roos led throughout and it was only some late resistance from the Dogs that saw the score line look somewhat more favourable towards the side from Sydney.

Dale Clacherty opened the scoring for the home team in the seventh minute when a long Jono Ford pass gave the winger some time and space, and he stepped inside his opposite number to dot down.

In the 15th minute Wyong were over again, this time thanks to Levi Pulu who showed why he is one of the most damaging runners of the ball in the VB NSW Cup, as he steamrolled his way over the line.

The Bulldogs looked to be back in the match in the 31st minute when Lindon McGrady made a clean break and put Pat O’Hanlon under the posts to make the score 10-6.

But back to back tries in the shadows of half time to Molan and Ford saw Wyong leading 22-6 at the break.

The Dogs needed to be first to score to have any chance of reeling the Roos back in but Wyong would have none of that as they scored the first two tries of the half to well and truly put the result to bed.

First up it was Tekina Vailea who crashed over and then it was Brock Molan who crossed for his second.

The Dogs managed to score three straight tries late in the piece thanks to Minute, Phillips and Low, but it was the Roos who had the final say when Brock Molan bagged himself a hat trick in the 78th minute to put an exclamation mark on the Wyong win.

Mark Kheirallah was outstanding for Wyong from the back and looked dangerous all day while Molan made a solid fist of his time in the seven jersey, breaking the line on several occasions.

The Roos season goes on the line once more next Saturday at Remondis Stadium when the Roos tackle the eighth placed Sharks while the Bulldogs head to Ringrose Park on Sunday to face the Magpies.

Wyong Roos 40 (B Molan 3, L Pulu, T Vailea, J Ford, D Clacherty tries; M Kheirallah 6 goals) def. Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 18 (P O’Hanlon, D Minute, D Low, T Phillips tries; P Templeman goal) at Morry Breen Oval.

Click here to view the VB NSW Cup ladder

Click here to view the VB NSW Cup draw

Click here to view the other results from Rd 22   


Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.