You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The heart and soul of New South Wales Rugby League have been acknowledged for their invaluable contribution to rugby league at the annual NSWRL Junior League Volunteer of the Year Awards last night.

Held at the Waterview in Bicentennial Park, Sydney Olympic Park, the NSWRL Junior League Volunteer of the Year Awards recognise the invaluable contribution of the game’s true backbone, volunteers.

The night acknowledged a wide range of volunteers across the state’s junior clubs, with North Sydney Brothers volunteer Barry Hanley taking out the prestigious NSWRL John Quinn Award for his great service in 2015.

A former board member of North Sydney Junior Rugby League, Hanley is also a life member of North Sydney Junior Rugby League and North Sydney Brothers Junior Rugby League Football Club.

“It’s probably one of the most important nights of the year. Just like any other sport, our sport doesn’t exist without volunteers,” NSWRL Chief Executive Officer David Trodden said.

“For them it’s about what they can give not what they can take. That’s the essential nature of these volunteers.”

Complete list of winners at the 2015 Junior League Volunteer of the Year Awards night:

NSWRL John Quinn Award – Barry Hanley
NSWRL Gordon Lowrie Award – Brendan Rosebottom
NSWRL Grassroots Club of the Year – Campbelltown City Kangaroos
Les Matthews Referee Volunteer Award – Russell Stevens
Balmain George Thompson Memorial Award – Ron White and Nellie Hage
Canterbury Bankstown DJRL Appreciation Award – Hash Kowaider
Cronulla Sutherland Junior League Volunteer of the Year Award – Simone Foster
Illawarra Col and Billie Purcell Award – Brian Leach
Manly Warringah DJRLFC Volunteer of the Year – Toni Couper
North Sydney DJRLFC Volunteer of the Year – Carmel Paterson
Parramatta DJRLFC Award – David Nicolson
Penrith and Districts Award – Laurie Sloane
St George Robert Stone Memorial Award – Stephen Charlton
South Sydney Juniors Award – Tony Whiteley
Western Suburbs Jim Medway Club Person of the Year – Edward Cummins
Indigenous Volunteer Award – Joanne Bostock
District Rep Volunteer of the Year Award – Geoff Tranter and Jim Toohey Media Volunteer of the Year Award – Nick Kutnjak

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners