You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Round 5 of the Sydney Metropolitan Women’s Rugby League brought all games to Norford Park at Sefton. With six games of Women's Rugby League at the one venue the crowd were treated to some exciting footy.

One of the highlights of the day was the clash between Redfern All Blacks and Berkeley Vale Panthers. After some great play from both teams Redfern carried a six-point lead into the last five minutes. Some end to end play saw both teams come close to scoring, but in the end Redfern were strong enough to hold off an enthusiastic finish from Berkeley Vale.

In the rematch of the 2015 Grand Final, Greenacre again came out on top with a strong second half performance earning them a 34–24 victory after the scores were level at half-time.


Division 1 Results:

·     Greenacre Tigers 34 (C Edwards 2, S Mailangi, O Masi, R McGregor, H Tipene, E Walton tries; C Leaupepe 3 goals)  def Forestville 20 (H Ahipene, S Alofaa’e, R Dixon, L Tipene tries; L Tipene 2 goals)

·     Cronulla-Caringbah 42  (S Bremner 3, J Latu 2, L Tauariki, T Chandler, J Etherden tries; M Studdon 5 goals) def Hunter Stars (A Broadhead, C Moran tries; S Simmonds goal)

·     Redfern All Blacks 30 ( E Grimes 2, K Kennedy 2, A Tighe, N Welsh tries; N Welsh 3 goals)  def Berkeley Vale 24 (J Fressard 2, C Jones, I Kelly, R McKay tries; B Starr 2 goals)

·     Mounties had a BYE

Division 1 Ladder:

1.      Mounties 10

2.      Redfern All Blacks 8

3.      Cronulla Caringbah 9

4.      Berkeley Vale 4

5.      Hunter Stars 4

6.      Greenacre 2

7.      Forestville 2


Division 2 Results:

·     Glenmore Park 52 (M Chapman 2, L Lealaiauloto2, B Carey, A Dell, T Hunter, T Osborne, A Scott, T Wright tries; A Dell 5, S Foster goals) def Minchinbury 12 (

·     Berala 22 (J Veletaloola, A Manase, H Cotrell, A Lea’Aetoa, C Finau tries; J Carroll goal) def Penrith Waratahs 20 (L Carr 3, L Sionesini, K Corderoy tries)

·     Chester Hill 20 def Maroubra 10


Division 2 Ladder:

1.      Glenmore Park 10

2.      Berala 8

3.      Minchinbury 6

4.      Penrith Waratahs 2

5.      Maroubra 2

6.      Chester Hill 2


Search for the latest social media updates on this competition and women’s Rugby League using #SMWRL or #WomensRL

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.