You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The Sydney Metropolitan Women’s Rugby League Semi-Finals for both Division 1 and Division 2 took place over the weekend. The Division 1 Semi-Finals took place at Kareela Park, with Cronulla-Caringbah scoring an exciting Golden Point victory over the Redfern All Blacks in the Minor Semi-Final to book their place in the Preliminary Final next week. They will come up against Minor Premiers Mounties after they were convincingly defeated by Greenacre. After winning the 2015 Grand Final, Greenacre can now watch Mounties and Cronulla-Caringbah battle it out at Windsor Sports Complex for the right to meet them in the Grand Final at Leichhardt Oval on 10 September.

In Division 2, the Minor Semi-Final saw Minchinbury come away with a comfortable win in the end after being challenged throughout much of the match by Penrith Waratahs. Minchinbury will play Berala next week in the Preliminary Final after they lost to Glenmore Park in a hard fought Major Semi-Final.


Division 1 Results:

  • Cronulla-Caringbah 30  (K Mullaly 2, J Etherden 2, T Chandler, C McGregor tries; M Studdon 3 goals) def Redfern All Blacks 26  (L Phillips 3, E Gillogly 2, K Maza tries; C Caldwell goal)
  • Greenacre 34 (C Edwards 2, S Mailangi, E Walton, T Tufuga, H Tipene, R McGregor tries; R McGregor 3 goals) def Mounties 12 (B Vette-Welsh, T Clark Tries; T Clark, K Simon goals)

Preliminary Final: September 3, Windsor Sporting Complex, 3:00pm: Mounties v Cronulla-Caringbah


Division 2 Results:

  • Minchinbury 46 (T Peters 2, K Vave 2, R Faatoafe, A Fasavalu Taetulia, R Mamae, C Aigea Faatoafe tries; C Fekitoa 7 goals) def Penrith Waratahs 26 (T Gunther 2, S Carr, K Corderoy, C Eisenhuth tries; S Carr goal)
  • Glenmore Park 40 (M Chapman, L Lealaiauloto 3, S Allison, T Hunter, B Carey tries; T Lealaiauloto, S Foster 5 goals) def Berala Bears 22 (J Carroll, M Gregory 2, T Higgins tries; M Gregory 3 goals)

Preliminary Final: September 3, Windsor Sporting Complex, 1:30pm: Minchinbury v Berala


Grand Finals: September 10, Leichhardt Oval

  • 12:30pm: SMWRL Div 2: Glenmore Park v tbc
  • 2:00pm: NSW Tertiary RL Div 2
  • 4:00pm: SMWRL Div 1: Greenacre v tbc
  • 6:00pm: NSW Tertiary RL Div 1


Search for the latest social media updates on this competition and women’s Rugby League using #SMWRL or #WomensRL