You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A host of NRL talent has been selected to represent the VB Country Origin team to play the final Country v City clash ever on Sunday, 7 May.

The likes of Cody Walker, Damien Cook, Anthony Don and Connor Watson make their representative debuts, while Tariq Sims becomes the most-capped current Country player with six appearances. Mitchell Aubusson, a Ballina Seagulls junior, will captain the side in his second consecutive VB Country Origin selection, following some strong form for the Roosters.

View the 2017 KARI City Origin team

Two notable selections have come through the NSWRL Pathways system in recent times; Brian Kelly was a part of the victorious NSW Under-20 team which defeated Queensland for the fifth-straight time in 2016, while 18th man Daniel Alvaro played for the Intrust Super Premiership NSW Residents as they emerged victorious in the same season. Dragons duo Paul Vaughan and Jack de Belin have been named as they aim to press for Origin debuts.

UPDATE: Euan Aitken, originally named at centre, has been withdrawn due to injury. No extra players will be brought into the squad at this time. 

With the KARI City Origin side to be announced after midday, the VB Country Origin side is as follows:

1.    Michael Gordon – Tweed Coast / Sydney Roosters

2.    Anthony Don – Grafton Ghosts / Gold Coast Titans

4.    Cheyse Blair – Bilambil Jets / Melbourne Storm

5.    Brian Kelly – Ballina Seagulls / Manly Warringah Sea Eagles

6.    Cody Walker – Casino Cougars / South Sydney Rabbitohs

7.    Tyrone Roberts – Ballina Seagulls / West Newcastle / Gold Coast Titans

8.    Dale Finucane – Bega Roosters / Melbourne Storm

9.    Damien Cook – Helensburgh Tigers / South Sydney Rabbitohs

10. Paul Vaughan – Gungahlin Bulls / St George Illawarra Dragons

11. Mitch Aubusson © – Ballina Seagulls / Sydney Roosters

12.  Kyle Turner – Coonabarabran Unicorns / South Sydney Rabbitohs

13. Jack De Belin – Cootamundra Bulldogs / St George Illawarra Dragons

14. Connor Watson – Kincumber Colts / Sydney Roosters

15. Matt Prior – Thirroul Butchers / Cronulla Sharks

16. Tariq Sims – Gerringong Lions / St George Illawarra Dragons

17. Adam Elliott – Tathra Sea Eagles / Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs

18. Daniel Alvaro – Mittagong Lions / Parramatta Eels

Coach: Craig Fitzgibbon – Dapto Canaries

Secure your seat at the final ever Country-City clash in Mudgee on Sunday, 7 May. Purchase tickets today to witness history as the curtain draws on a great Rugby League tradition.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners