You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The NSWRL have today named a strong Ron Massey Cup Representatives side for the annual clash with the Queensland Rangers at Pizzey Park on the Gold Coast this Sunday.

With the best available squad selected, the NSWRL will look to post a maiden win in the fixture, having lost the first two editions since first introduced to the Rugby League calendar in 2015. This year has seen a departure from the policy of at least one player from each team being selected in the squad, as was the case in the last two years.

In a side that has lashings of Intrust Super Premiership NSW experience this season, competition leaders St Marys provide the greatest representation with six players named in the 18-man squad.

Freakish try scoring winger Maika Sivo earns his first representative jumper in Australia as the headline name of the Saints’ six, with Intrust Super Premiership NSW experience in centre Tony Satini and second-rower Aaron Pene amongst the other Saints’ teammeates in the side.

Hills District Bulls provide the next biggest representation with four players – with the surprise selection of regular half Chad O’Donnell at five-eighth leading the Bulls' quartet.

Western Suburbs, Mounties, Concord-Burwood-Glebe and Wentworthville have each earned two selections in the squad. 2016 Ron Massey Cup Player of the Year Brendan Waters has been named halfback.

The 2017 Ron Massey Cup Representatives side is as follows:

  1. Don Thompson (Cabramatta)
  2. Maika Sivo (St Marys)
  3. Tony Satini (St Marys)
  4. Atini Gafa (Wentworthville)
  5. James Gammidge (Wentworthville)
  6. Chad O’Donnell (Hills District Bulls)
  7. Brendan Waters (Western Suburbs)
  8. Rodney Coates (Mounties)
  9. Soni Luke (St Marys)
  10. Alec Susino (Mounties)
  11. Tom Freebairn (Concord-Burwood-Glebe)
  12. Aaron Pene (St Marys)
  13. Jerry Key (Western Suburbs)
  14. Cowen Epere (St Marys)
  15. Jamal Hunt (Hills District Bulls)
  16. Joshua Tangitau (Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles)
  17. Tom Young (Hills District Bulls)
  18. Henry Seumanu (St Marys)

Coach: Mark Speechley (Mounties)
Assistant Coach: Paul Griffin (Hills District Bulls)

The match will be played at 11:45am AEST on Sunday at Pizzey Park, Burleigh Heads as the curtain-raiser to the Queensland Intrust Super Cup match between the Burleigh Bears and the Ipswich Jets. Stay locked on for a full wrap of camp and Sunday's match.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.