You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

The New South Wales Rugby League turns 110 today, following its formation on 8 August, 1907.

The rich history of Rugby League started when Alfred Deakin was Prime Minister of Australia – when player discontent in the other code’s ranks led to a breakaway movement. The rest, as they say, is history.

The New South Wales Rugby League (NSWRL) was known as the New South Wales Rugby Football League until 1984, and today celebrates a milestone like few other sporting bodies in Australia or around the world.

“To make 110 is a huge achievement in the sporting world,” NSWRL CEO David Trodden said.

“To reach such a significant milestone is a reflection of the tireless work of so many over such a long period of time – the administrators, the volunteers, the supporters and, of course, the players.

“On behalf of the NSWRL we thank everyone who has supported us over the past 110 years and look forward to a successful and prosperous future.”

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners