You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Debutant Watch: Niukore Named For Eels

Ahead of Round 11 of the NRL Telstra Premiership, just one Intrust Super Premiership graduates has been named to get their first taste of the top grade - takes a look Marata Niukore. 

Marata Niukore

Club: Parramatta Eels
Position: Second-row, Prop
Age: 22
Intrust Super Premiership games played: 40
Representative honours: Nil

After a string of eye-catching performances for the Wentworthville Magpies in the Intrust Super Premiership NSW this season, Marata Niukore has reaped the rewards after being named to make his first grade debut against his former club the Warriors this Friday night at ANZ Stadium. 

The New Zealand Under-20s representative joined the Eels in 2017 where he was part of the Auckland Nines squad after his first pre-season with the club and has quickly become a core part of the Magpies forward pack since his club debut last season. 

His barnstorming performance against the Western Suburbs Magpies in Round 8 clearly caught the eye of Eels coach Brad Arthur, with Niukore recording 162 running metres, seven tackle-breaks and a try-assist for good measure. 

Expect a spirited performance from the utility forward as the Eels look to bounce back from their hard-fought 20-12 loss to the Bulldogs on Friday night.  


2018 Debutants

• Sam Cook – Warriors (Round 1 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)*

• Adam Doueihi – North Sydney Bears, South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 2 v Penrith Panthers)

• Christian Crichton – Penrith Panthers (Round 3 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

• Wayde Egan – Penrith Panthers (Round 4 v North Queensland Cowboys)

• Kurt Dillon – Newtown Jets, Cronulla-Sutherland-Sharks (Round 6 v St. George Illawarra Dragons)

• Kaide Ellis – Penrith Panthers (Round 6 v Gold Coast Titans)

• Taniela Paseka – Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 6 v Wests Tigers)

• Jack Hethrington – Penrith Panthers (Round 7 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

• Rhyse Martin – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 9 v Brisbane Broncos)

• Reece Robson – St. George Illawarra Dragons (Round 9 v Melbourne Storm)

• Jarome Luai – Penrith Panthers (Round 10 v Newcastle Knights)

• Renouf To'Omaga – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 10 v Parramatta Eels)

• Tom Wright – Blacktown Workers Sea Eagles, Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 10 v Brisbane Broncos)

• Zac Lomax – St. George Illawarra Dragons (Round 10 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)

• Jack Williams – Newtown Jets, Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 10 v Canberra Raiders)

• Marata Niukore – Wentworthville Magpies, Parramatta Eels (Round 11 v Warriors)**

*Finished 2017 season in the Intrust Super Premiership NSW

**Named to debut in Round 11

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners