You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Dragons win Wheelchair Rugby League Grand Final

The St George Illawarra Dragons have upset the previously undefeated Minor Premiers to win the Wheelchair Rugby League Grand Final 38-26, their third in three years.

Both teams started off fast, aggressive and zoned in, with neither team giving an inch in the first 15 minutes of play.

The Tigers opened the scoring with a try from Liam Luff, however the Dragons Corey Cannane hit back right away and tied the score 4-4.

Shortly after Cory Cannane bagged himself 2 consecutive tries and a hat trick in the first half, which made the score 22-4.

Brad Grove closed the gap to 22-10, but the Dragons kept the aggression up and drove over the line to end the first half at 26-10.

The Dragons came out firing in the second half picking up where they left off with a quick try and conversion, which widened their lead to 32-10.

Stephan Rochecouste and Brad Grove lead the comeback for the Tigers closing the gap in the last 10 minutes to 32-20, making it anyone’s game.

However, it was not to be as Craig Cannane, the skipper for the Dragons was able to strike back over the line quickly in the last 10 minutes, icing the premiership for his team in 2019.

Dragons skipper Craig Cannane added after the game “Hats off to the Tigers who really gave it to the competition this season going undefeated, we were just able to play our game today... go the Dragons".

Yarra Ryan won player of the match - who was so consistent today in defence and offence, leading the Dragons to their three-peat.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.