You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Line-ups named for Women's National Championships

NSW Country will be chasing back-to-back titles at the 2019 Harvey Norman Women's National Championships in Burleigh from May 30 with future representative honours on the line across the four-day tournament.

Six teams will compete at the championships with NSW fielding Country and City sides, while Queensland have named a Country side and South East Queensland team.

An Affiliated States side and Australian Defence Force team will also return with a host of up-and-coming talent representing areas from across the country.

The tournament acts as a major selection process for upcoming Origin selection, while representatives from NRLW clubs are also expected to scout for talent with contracts possibly offered for the competition in September.

NSW Country beat NSW City in last year's championship final 16-12 to be crowned 2018 champions.

The inaugural championships saw the likes of Julia Robinson, Hannah Southwell and Holli Wheeler evolve into international players with the Australian Jillaroos by season's end.

"It was a fun week last year to be able to represent Country and we're really determined to make in two in a row," NSW Country back-rower Kezie Apps told

"You play with girls you wouldn't usually play with or against. To see some of the girls develop and represent their country later in the year shows that this tournament is a real chance to shine and take that next opportunity."

Radical team changes expected for women's Origin

NSW Country boasts several big names including Apps and Ruan Sims but the team will be without Isabelle Kelly with the star centre sidelined with a knee injury.

Country representatives Sam Bremner and Nakia Davis Welsh and City representative Taleena Simon have all announced their pregnancies in recent months and are also not available.

Queensland's SEQ side (formerly City) is led by Broncos halfback Ali Brigginshaw and features the likes of Roosters trio Karina Brown, Zahara Temara and Tazmin Gray.

Kiwi Ferns forward Maitua Feterika and former New Zealand international Rona Peters are also included but cannot be considered for Maroons selection under the game's new eligibility rule.

The ADF side will be guided by Jillaroos players Meg Ward and Talesha Quinn for a consecutive season but the squad will be disappointed by the withdrawal of Robinson, who is sidelined for the remainder of the year following leg and ankle surgery.

Harvey Norman Women's National Championships

  • Dates: May 30 to June 2, 2019
  • Location: Pizzey Park, Burleigh


  • Pool 1: South East Queensland (SEQ), NSW City, Combined Affiliated States (CAS)
  • Pool 2: Queensland Country, NSW Country, Australian Defence Force (ADF)

Day 1 - Thursday May 30

  • 12.00pm – CAS v NSW City
  • 1.15pm – ADF v NSW Country

Day 2 - Friday May 31

  • 12.00pm – CAS v SEQ
  • 1.15pm – ADF v QLD Country

Day 3 - Saturday June 1

  • 12.00pm – SEQ v NSW City
  • 1.45pm – QLD Country v NSW Country

Day 4 - Sunday June 2

  • 10.30am – Third (Pool A) v Third (Pool B)
  • 12.00pm – Second (Pool A) v Second (Pool B)
  • 1.45pm – First (Pool A) v First (Pool B)

2019 Women’s Origin returns to North Sydney


NSW Country: Kezie Apps, Keeley Davis, Kirra Dibb, Vanessa Foliaki, Emma Hickey, Kylie Hilder, Rikeya Horne, Melanie Howard, Ellie Johnston, Takilele Katoa, Bobbi Law, Shellie Long, Kaitlyn Phillips, Ruan Sims, Simone Smith, Hannah Southwell, Tess Staines, Gabrielle Suckling, Shakiah Tungai, Holli Wheeler, Bec Young.

NSW City: Corban McGregor, Kiara Takairangi, Shontelle Stowers, Jessica Sergis, Tiana Penitani, Quincy Dodd, Maddie Studdon, Elianna Walton, Rebecca Riley, Teina Clarke, Montana Fonua, Sarah Togatuki, Simaima Taufa, Aaliyah Faamausili, Najvada George, Christine Pauli, Karla Cowan, Shaylee Bent, Kate Mullaly, Shanice Parker, Botille Vette-Walsh, Tommaya Kelly-Sines, Aliti Namoce, Christian Pio.

Queensland Country: Chelsea Baker, Rhiannon Revell-Blair, Elle Stitt, Zeah Lane, Romy Teitzel, Tamika Upton, Jenni-Sue Hoepper, Heather Ballinger, Brittany Breayley, Steph Hancock, Steph Mooka, Annette Brander, Brianna Clarke, Lana Sheedy, Riutoto Te Hiko, Deb Barchard, Layla Fauid, Mariah Storch, Shania Power, Rangimarie Bruce, Angela Solomon, Leaticia Perkins, Reeghyn Beardmore, Kody House.

South East Queensland: Tarryn Aiken, Tyler Birch, Millie Boyle, Ali Brigginshaw, Karina Brown, Jessika Elliston, Maitua Feterika, Tazmin Gray, Tallisha Harden, Jasmin Kemp, Chelsea Lenarduzzi, Taimane Levu, Taylor-Adeline Mapusua, Tanika Marshall, Laken Paitai, Kelsey Parkin, Rona Peters, Amber Pilley, Zahara Temara, Amy Turner, Rosemary Vaimili Toalepai.

Combined Affiliated States: Keisha Marshall, Latoniya Norris, Cherysh Leaf, Ngahuia Blair, Kirsty Cooper, Kailey Thompson, Te Aroha Hapuku, Oneata Schwalger, Melody Wehipeihana, Lucy Cuppari, Mary Makai, Hayley Carstairs, Melissa Thomas, Jean Shannel Robati, Tasia Seumanufagai, Danyel Davan, Fa'atulia Pula, Lyric Ngapera, Jayne Kareroa, Juraea Turner, Layna Nona Busch.

Australian Defence Force: Meg Ward, Michelle Vocea, Debra Toby, Nicola Emsley, Danielle Close, Shannon Evans, Nicole Hall, Morgan Higgins, Ebony Allsopp, Talesha Quinn, Maddie Burton, Danielle Cahill, Alex Foltyn, Kirsten Wilson, Stephanie Kopp, Christine Fine, Betty Latumahina, Almareve Ara, Karri Thomas, Sophie Thompson.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners