You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NSW Police ready to defend Shield

David Nissen

Interstate rivalry extends to the top end this weekend when the National Police Rugby League Championships are held in Darwin.

The NSW team will fly north for the Tri-Series tournament to face the hosts, the Affiliated States, on Friday 21 June 2019 and their arch-rivals Queensland the following night.

A young team has been selected from across the metropolitan and country areas to defend the interstate shield against a competitive Queensland outfit.

NSW currently holds the interstate shield after a tough 4-4 draw against Queensland in Wollongong in 2018.

Competition will be strong with the games played as part of selection for the Australian Police Rugby League team.

The NSW team assembled on Monday at the NSWRL Centre of Excellence and were welcomed by NSWRL CEO David Trodden, NSW Police Deputy Commissioner Jeff Loy, Lee Hagipantelis from Brydens Lawyers, a new sponsor of the NSW Police Rugby League, and True Blue Braith Anasta.

NSW Police coach Craig Sheridan welcomed the opportunity to train at the NSWRL headquarters and have the opportunity to prepare the team in line with other NSWRL representative teams, including the Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues and the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Origin team.

“It is a great privilege for the boys to have the opportunity to prepare in the same surrounds that the SOO teams have,” Sheridan said.

“The team represent the breadth of the NSW Police Rugby League competitions and it is a great honour for them to pull on the sky blue jersey.”

Deputy Commissioner Jeff Loy addressed the team and spoke about the great camaraderie that emanates from being selected in the state team.

The 2019 series will be played at the newly completed Warren Park rugby league stadium at Marrara.


NSW Police Rugby League Team


1 Daniel Drewe (Macarthur) 

2 Anton Sahyoun (Parramatta) 

3 Jack Webster (Manly) 

4 Haydn Peacock (Bankstown) 

5 Simon Gairns (Macarthur) 

6 Adam McInnes (Parramatta) 

7 Matthew Price (Macarthur) 

8 Brayden Sharrock (Country Sth) 

9 Daniel Mahoney (Parramatta) 

10 David Cox (Manly) 

11 Mitchell West (Eastern Suburbs) 

12 Dane Clarke (Bankstown) 

13 Danny Lawrence (Manly) 

14 Jake Clisby (Eastern Suburbs) 

15 Corey White (Macarthur) 

16 Brent Nellies (Macarthur) 

17 Alex Sahyoun (Parramatta) 

18 Desai Gupwell (Manly) 

19 Michael Creamer (Parramatta) 

20 Logan Harris (Country Sth) 

21 Colin Farmilo (Eastern Suburbs) 

22 James Gray (Eastern Suburbs)