You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Star power on show for Canterbury Cup NSW Semi-Finals

There will be no shortage of star power lining up for the Semi-Finals of Canterbury Cup NSW with almost 30 players who have had a taste of NRL in action this weekend (14-15 September) at Leichhardt Oval.

In what promises to be a huge two days with the Semi-Finals to also be decided for the Jersey Flegg Cup, Ron Massey Cup and Sydney Shield, there will be 15 players in action with NRL experience for the first Semi-Final between Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs and Wentworthville Magpies on Saturday 14 September.

Wentworthville prop and former Parramatta Eels captain Tim Mannah will be hoping to continue the strong form he showed in the Magpies' shock win over Penrith in the Elimination Final after running for 165 metres and making 32 tackles.

He will be joined by other players who turned out for the Eels this season including fullback Josh Hoffman, wingers George Jennings and Ethan Parry, centre Jaeman Salmon, five-eighth Will Smith, hooker Matt McIlwrick and forwards David Gower, Peni Terepo and Oregon Kaufusi.

The Bulldogs are also well represented by players who have a had a taste of first grade this season including centres Christian Crichton and Morgan Harper, wingers Jayden Okunbor and John Olive and forwards Ofahiki Ogden and Danny Fualalo.

The second Semi-Final between foundation clubs North Sydney Bears and Newtown Jets also involves a combined 15 players with NRL experience.

The Bears – who act as the feeder club for the Sydney Roosters – will welcome back winger and England international Ryan Hall from injury while others who have played NRL include Billy Smith, Lachlan Lam, Drew Hutchison, Poasa Faamausili, Lindsay Collins and Sitili Tupouniua.

The Jets, who made it through to the Grand Final last year only to lose a thriller to the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, have NRL experience in William Kennedy, Sione Katoa, Tyrone Phillips, Grant Garvey, Scott Sorensen, Siosifa Talakai and Jason Bukuya.

The winner of the Bulldogs-Magpies will take on the South Sydney Rabbitohs while the winner of the Bears-Jets will face St George Illawarra Dragons in the Preliminary Finals at Netstrata Jubilee Stadium.

NB: Teams are subject to change before kick-off. Please click here for the most up-to-date information.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners