You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sowie’s Debutant Watch | Green Machine to unleash gun

True Blue Jamie Soward casts his eyes over the Canterbury Cup NSW graduates who are set to make their respective NRL debuts this weekend.

Matthew Timoko

The Canberra Raiders are set to blood yet another young gun at GIO Stadium against the Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs on Sunday, with outside back Matthew Timoko making his debut off the bench in number 17. 

Joe Tapine and Ryan Sutton revert to the interchange with Corey Harawira-Naera out of the side which has given Tomoko a chance to make an impact for the home side, who have won five of their past six games against Canterbury.

Last year, he played 21 games for the Raiders Jersey Flegg Cup side, where he helped them to a grand final berth and scored an impressive 13 tries, five try assists and 18 line breaks and was deadly in combination with edge partner Manase Kaho.

The 20-year-old played three Canterbury Cup NSW games in 2019 and was explosive at centre in his two appearances the 2020 NRL 9s, scoring two tries and totalling over 100 run metres.

Soward says: Timoko is a really bright prospect that I think will bring a lot of energy off the interchange bench and I'm interested to see how Ricky Stuart intends to play him.

He was a standout for the Raiders in the Jersey Flegg Cup in 2019 and played a key role in helping them to a Grand Final. 

He's also battled through a knee injury so it's a great sign of perseverance from the young gun and to make the day even more special, he'll play in front of a home crowd on Sunday.


2020 Canterbury Cup NSW graduates

1. Toby Rudolf  – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 1 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)

2. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown – Warriors (Round 1 v Newcastle Knights)

3. Jake Averillo – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 2 v North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Troy Dargan – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 3 v Sydney Roosters)

5. Alex Seyfarth – Wests Tigers (Round 3 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

6. Tex Hoy – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

7. Brodie Jones – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

8. Christopher Randall – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

9. Adam Clune – St George Illawarra Dragons (Round 4 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

10. Keaon Koloamatangi – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 4 v Melbourne Storm)

11. Tevita Funa – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 5 v Brisbane Broncos)

12. Sam McIntyre – Wests Tigers (Round 6 v North Queensland Cowboys)

13. Charlie Staines - Penrith Panthers (Round 9 v Cronulla Sharks)

14. Stefano Utoikamanu – Parramatta Eels (Round 9 v Newcastle Knights)

15. Reece Hoffman – Wests Tigers (Round 9 v Wests Tigers)

16. Jaxson Paulo – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 10 v Newcastle Knights)

17. Semi Valemei – Canberra Raiders (Round 10 v Sydney Roosters)

18. Andrew Davey – Parramatta Eels (Round 10 v Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

19. Jack Johns – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 11 v Canberra Raiders)

20. Teig Wilton – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 11 v St George Illawarra Dragons)

21. Harley Smith-Shields – Canberra Raiders (Round 11 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)

22. Braydon Trindall – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 12 v Brisbane Broncos)

23. Jackson Ferris – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 12 v Brisbane Broncos)

24. Daniel Suluka-Fifita – Sydney Roosters (Round 12 v Gold Coast Titans)

25. Max Bailey – Sydney Roosters (Round 13 v St George Illawarra Dragons)

26. Asu Kepaoa – Wests Tigers (Round 13 v Newcastle Knights)

27. Daine Laurie – Penrith Panthers (Round 13 v Canberra Raiders)

28. Christian Tuipulotu – Sydney Roosters (Round 14 v Melbourne Storm

29. Matt Doorey – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 14 v Wests Tigers)

30. Freddy Lussick – Sydney Roosters (Round 15 v Wests Tigers)

31. Steven Marsters – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 15 v Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

32. Paul Turner – Warriors (Round 15 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

33. Albert Hopoate – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 16 v Melbourne Storm)

34. Matthew Timoko – Canberra Raiders (Round 16 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

NOTE: This list of players are of those who have graduated directly with Canterbury Cup NSW-affiliated clubs in 2020. Others who have made profressional debuts in other competitions (i.e. Super League) prior to earning an NRL start are not included.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.