You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Sowie’s debutant watch | Electric outside back to debut

True Blue Jamie Soward casts his eyes over the Canterbury Cup NSW graduates who are set to make their respective NRL debuts this weekend.

Cody Ramsey

St George Illawarra Dragons player Cody Ramsey made the Rugby League world sit up and take notice when he lit up the NRL Nines in February and now he gets his chance to make an impact in the NRL when he makes his first grade debut for the Red V against the Canberra Raiders at WIN Stadium on Saturday.

Ramsey, who was named rookie of the tournament at the NRL Nines, starts on the wing in place of Mikaele Ravalawa and will be outside another young gun in Zac Lomax.

The 20-year-old was named Dragons’ Jersey Flegg Player of the Year last year after having an incredible season where he notched 18 tries at fullback and used his blistering pace to score some amazing long range tries.

The Cabonne United junior bagged four tries in as many outings at the Nines in February, including a hat-trick against Penrith, and managed a massive 234 run metres in the four games the Dragons played.

Soward says: An exciting prospect who is really fast across the ground.

I have watched his game develop from the junior grades for the Dragons to what we saw at the Nines so he’s going to be tested out playing out of position on the wing but nice to see him get an opportunity.


2020 Canterbury Cup NSW graduates

1. Toby Rudolf  – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 1 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)

2. Jamayne Taunoa-Brown – Warriors (Round 1 v Newcastle Knights)

3. Jake Averillo – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 2 v North Queensland Cowboys)

4. Troy Dargan – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 3 v Sydney Roosters)

5. Alex Seyfarth – Wests Tigers (Round 3 v Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

6. Tex Hoy – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

7. Brodie Jones – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

8. Christopher Randall – Newcastle Knights (Round 3 v Penrith Panthers)

9. Adam Clune – St George Illawarra Dragons (Round 4 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

10. Keaon Koloamatangi – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 4 v Melbourne Storm)

11. Tevita Funa – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 5 v Brisbane Broncos)

12. Sam McIntyre – Wests Tigers (Round 6 v North Queensland Cowboys)

13. Charlie Staines - Penrith Panthers (Round 9 v Cronulla Sharks)

14. Stefano Utoikamanu – Parramatta Eels (Round 9 v Newcastle Knights)

15. Reece Hoffman – Wests Tigers (Round 9 v Wests Tigers)

16. Jaxson Paulo – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 10 v Newcastle Knights)

17. Semi Valemei – Canberra Raiders (Round 10 v Sydney Roosters)

18. Andrew Davey – Parramatta Eels (Round 10 v Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

19. Jack Johns – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 11 v Canberra Raiders)

20. Teig Wilton – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 11 v St George Illawarra Dragons)

21. Harley Smith-Shields – Canberra Raiders (Round 11 v South Sydney Rabbitohs)

22. Braydon Trindall – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 12 v Brisbane Broncos)

23. Jackson Ferris – Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks (Round 12 v Brisbane Broncos)

24. Daniel Suluka-Fifita – Sydney Roosters (Round 12 v Gold Coast Titans)

25. Max Bailey – Sydney Roosters (Round 13 v St George Illawarra Dragons)

26. Asu Kepaoa – Wests Tigers (Round 13 v Newcastle Knights)

27. Daine Laurie – Penrith Panthers (Round 13 v Canberra Raiders)

28. Christian Tuipulotu – Sydney Roosters (Round 14 v Melbourne Storm

29. Matt Doorey – Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs (Round 14 v Wests Tigers)

30. Freddy Lussick – Sydney Roosters (Round 15 v Wests Tigers)

31. Steven Marsters – South Sydney Rabbitohs (Round 15 v Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

32. Paul Turner – Warriors (Round 15 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

33. Albert Hopoate – Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 16 v Melbourne Storm)

34. Matthew Timoko – Canberra Raiders (Round 16 v Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

35. Josh Schuster - Manly Warringah Sea Eagles (Round 17 v Wests Tigers) 

NOTE: This list of players are of those who have graduated directly with Canterbury Cup NSW-affiliated clubs in 2020. Others who have made profressional debuts in other competitions (i.e. Super League) prior to earning an NRL start are not included.