You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Gutherson claims 2020 Ken Thornett Medal

Parramatta Eels captain and fullback Clint Gutherson has claimed the 2020 Ken Thornett Medal for Player of the Year at the Club’s presentation tonight (Tuesday 13 October).

The Ken Thornett Medal Gala Dinner was held at the Grand Pavillion, Rosehill Gardens Racecourse, recognising the players from the Parramatta Eels NRL side to mark the 2020 season.

Gutherson claimed the prestigious Ken Thornett Medal, named after the famous late Eels fullback, as voted by his teammates week-by-week during the season.

The fullback also claimed the Nathan Hindmarsh Players’ Player Award and the Blue & Gold Army Player of the Year award, voted on by our Eels Members, recognising the Members’ choice for their player of the year.

Glitz and glamour at the Ken Thornett Medal ceremony

Eels forward Junior Paulo claimed the Jack Gibson NRL Coaches’ award following his season that also saw him named in the 2020 NSW Blues squad.

Eels back rower Andrew Davey was awarded the Eric Grothe Rookie of the Year award following his debut season, finishing the year with 10 NRL games after making his debut in the Eels Round 10 clash against the Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles.

The Ray Price NRL Community award was presented to Reed Mahoney for his impact in the community in 2020, staying heavily involved with the Eels community participating in numerous initiatives such as the Eels Community School Blitz, the Bushfire appeal in Bega; visiting farms and schools affected by the bushfires, Ronald McDonald House and Westmead Children’s Hospital visits and holds an Ambassador role for the Eels charity partner, Giant Steps.

Eels accept awards at Ken Thornett Medal 2020

Eels football staffer Don Musson was named the recipient of the prestigious Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year award for his work and commitment throughout the 2020 season, in particular during the COVID-19 biosecurity bubble.

Special tributes were made on the night to the Blue & Gold debutants throughout the 2020 season, players who reached milestones and to the departing Eels for their valuable contribution to the club.

A full list of award winners are below.

Parramatta Eels 2020 Award Winners
Ken Thornett Medal – Clint Gutherson
Jack Gibson NRL Coaches' Award – Junior Paulo
Ray Price NRL Community Award – Reed Mahoney
Eric Grothe NRL Rookie of the Year – Andrew Davey
Blue and Gold Army Player of the Year – Clint Gutherson
Michael Cronin Club Person of the Year – Don Musson

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners