You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
James Tedesco claims third consecutive Jack Gibson Medal

Sydney Roosters fullback James Tedesco has tonight been named winner of the prestigious Jack Gibson Medal at the Sydney Roosters 2020 Awards Night.

This is the first time in the history of the Jack Gibson Medal that a player has claimed the Roosters’ most prestigious award for three consecutive years.

"I wouldn't want to be at any other Club" - James Tedesco

Awarded to the Player of the Year, the Jack Gibson Medal was voted for at the conclusion of every game by the Roosters NRL team and Head Coach, with votes tallied across the season. Sophie Spence, granddaughter of the late Jack Gibson, presented Tedesco with the Medal.

Tedesco was also named the Members Player of the Year for the second consecutive year.

While injury sidelined him for much of the season, Victor Radley made an extensive contribution both on and off the field throughout the year, and in recognition of his efforts, he was tonight named the recipient of the James Mathews Award for Clubman of the Year.

Angus Crichton was the recipient of the Roosters Our Community Award for his efforts throughout the community, which included the launch of his own charity, First People Project, in late 2019.

Meanwhile, Jared Waerea-Hargreaves took home the Steggles Try of the Year award for his memorable four-pointer against the St George Illawarra Dragons in Round 7. Waerea-Hargreaves was also the winner of this award in 2015.

Daniel Suluka-Fifita was awarded the Harry Phipps Rising Star Award, while Naufahu Whyte was presented with the Chris Sykes award as the Junior Representative Player of the Year.

James Tedesco 2020 Season Highlights

The award winners on the night were:

Steggles Try of the Year: Jared Waerea-Hargreaves
Members Player of the Year: James Tedesco
Roosters Our Community Award: Angus Crichton
Barry Van Heekeren “MOCCA” Award: Chris James
Harry Phipps Rising Star Award: Daniel Suluka-Fifita
Chris Sykes Award (Junior Representative Player of the Year): Naufahu Whyte
James Mathews Clubman of the Year: Victor Radley
Jack Gibson Medal: James Tedesco

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners