You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Hannah Southwell joins RLPA Board of Directors

Harvey Norman NSW Sky Blues forward Hannah Southwell has made history by becoming the first ever female to be appointed as a director for the Rugby League Players Association.

The Australian and NSW representative will join True Blue Wade Graham, and NRL stars Daly Cherry-Evans, Christian Welch, Sia Soliola, Dale Copley and Clint Newton on the board as she looks to take another step in an already stellar professional career.

“I’m proud to join the RLPA’s Board and to be able to represent my fellow players at this level,” Southwell told the RLPA.

“Establishing a collective agreement for NRLW players is one goal I would love to help achieve through my position with the RLPA.

“However, I also look forward to having a voice on a wide range of matters across the game and continuing my own professional development along the way.”

RLPA Chief Executive Officer Clint Newtown expressed just how important Southwell’s appointment was as they look to continually progress women’s Rugby League.

“After a number of recent conversations with Hannah it is clear she will bring significant energy, insight and passion to our Board,” Newton said.

“Hannah brings a tremendous amount of knowledge to the fold having represented Australia, New South Wales and excelled in the NRLW.

“I have no doubt that Hannah will be an invaluable asset as we continue to navigate our way through the impact that COVID-19 has had on the game, while also turning our focus to establishing collective agreements for our male and female members.”

Southwell was an integral member of the 2021 Sky Blues squad and was playing for the Central Coast Roosters in the Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Premiership before the competition was suspended due to the COVID-19 outbreak across Greater Sydney.