You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Future Blues, Sky Blues join forces for camp

The next generation of Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues stars will team up with the Harvey Norman NSW Sky Blues and Harvey Norman NSW Women’s Under 19s State of Origin team for a training camp at the NSWRL Centre of Excellence on Sunday 12 December.

Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues coach Brad Fittler and Harvey Norman NSW Sky Blues coach Kylie Hilder will run the camp which will include a joint breathing and yoga class, positional training sessions while the women’s teams will also begin preparations for the 2022 State of Origin.

Fittler, who will be joined by assistant coaches Danny Buderus, Paul McGregor and Mark O’Meley, said he was looking forward to re-connecting with the Emerging Blues after representative pathways games were forced to be cancelled for the past two years over the COVID-19 pandemic.

The 31-man squad includes NRL regulars Josh Schuster, Jason Saab and Haumole Olakau’atu from Manly Warringah Sea Eagles, St George Dragons rising stars Junior Amone, Tyrell Sloan and Jayden Sullivan and Sydney Roosters young gun Joseph Suaalii.

“I have always been passionate about the next generation of NSW stars coming through the system ever since my time as a representative pathways coach,” Fittler said.

“The NSWRL has a proud history of nurturing talented players as they rise through the ranks and some of the star players for the Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues began their representative careers in NSW pathways teams.

“The game will always produce Rugby League stars and I’m looking forward to working with the Future Blues to help them realise their potential, as well as assisting with training sessions for the Sky Blues and Under 19s Women’s Origin teams.”

Hilder said she was also looking forward to the session and the opportunity to exchange ideas with the NSW Blues coaching staff. The two parties worked together in May when Fittler and his assistant coaches took part in a positional training session for the City and Country women’s teams.

The Sky Blues 25-person squad features the team that lost narrowly to Queensland on the Sunshine Coast in June while the NSW Women’s Under 19s 25-person squad includes nine players who took part in the Harvey Norman Tarsha Gale Cup Grand Final.

“It’s always great for the men’s and women’s teams to work together and the girls got a real buzz out of training with Freddy and his assistant coaches earlier this year,” Hilder said.

“The session will form an important first step in our preparations as the Sky Blues look to return the Origin Shield home next season, while the NSW Under 19s Women’s team will be keen to defend their title.”

The NSWRL will advise of details for a media event at the camp at a later date.

Paul Alamoti (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Junior Amone (St George Illawarra Dragons), Michael Asomua (Canberra Raiders), Jock Brazel (Parramatta Eels), Egan Butcher (Sydney Roosters), Jack Cole (Penrith Panthers), Thomas Deakin (Sydney Roosters), Latu Fainu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Terrell Kalo Kalo (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Brandon Morkos (Canberra Raiders), Justin Matamua (Wests Tigers), Jesse McLean (Penrith Panthers), Davvy Moale (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Trey Mooney (Canberra Raiders), Tyler Moriarty (Sydney Roosters), Larry Muagututia (Parramatta Eels), Haumole Olakau’atu (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Will Penisini (Parramatta Eels), Jonah Pezet (Melbourne Storm), Roy Quiroz-Mapusua (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Sean Russell (Parramatta Eels), Jason Saab (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Josh Schuster (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles), Tyrell Sloan (St George Illawarra Dragons), Joseph Suaalii (Sydney Roosters), Jayden Sullivan (St George Illawarra Dragons), Izack Tago (Penrith Panthers), Blaize Talagi (Parramatta Eels), Siteni Taukamo (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Brandon Tumeth (Wests Tigers), Josh Wong (Sydney Roosters).

Lilly Baker (Glebe Dirty Reds), Teagan Berry (Illawarra Steelers), Keele Brown (Illawarra Steelers), Maddie Binding (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Jamie Chapman (Tweed Seagulls), Bree Chester (Newcastle Knights), Sophie Clancy (Newcastle Knights), Iesha Duckett (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Tegan Dymock (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Rhyshe Faamausili (St George Dragons), Fatafehi Hanisi (St George Dragons), Rose Lina Tau (Illawarra Steelers), Charlize Lloyd-Phillips (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Tayla Montgomery (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Jordan Preston (Illawarra Steelers), Otesa Pule (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Andie Robinson (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Hope Tevaga (Wests Tigers), Taneka Todhunter (Indigenous Academy Sydney Roosters), Cassey Tohi-Hiku (St George Dragons), Chantel Tugaga (Illawarra Steelers), Leilani Wilson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs), Luisa Yaranamua (St George Dragons).

Kezie Apps (Wests Tigers), Millie Boyle (Burleigh Bears), Jocephy Daniels (Mounties), Keeley Davis (Mounties), Quincy Dodd (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Jayme Fressard (Central Coast Roosters), Filomina Hanisi (Mounties), Talia Holmes (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Caitlan Johnston (Central Coast Roosters), Isabelle Kelly (Central Coast Roosters), Jocelyn Koller (Central Coast Roosters), Corban Baxter (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Yasmin Meakes (Central Coast Roosters), Brydie Parker (Central Coast Roosters), Rachael Pearson (Helensburgh Tigers), Tiana Penitani (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Matilda Power (Mounties), Jessica Sergis (Wests Tigers), Hannah Southwell (Central Coast Roosters), Maddie Studdon (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks), Renee Targett (North Sydney Bears), Simaima Taufa (Mounties), Sarah Togatuki (St Marys Saints), Botille Vette-Welsh (Wests Tigers), Holli Wheeler (North Sydney Bears).

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners