You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

A Kiama coach, dedicated to mentoring and developing young girls, and a Riverstone coach, who encourages parents to join their children at training, have been named the 2022 NSWRL Female and Male Community Coaches of the Year.

The Community Coach of the Year (Female), supported by Harvey Norman, and the Community Coach of the Year (Male), have been awarded to Cindy Brookfield (Kiama JRLFC) and Jai Midolo (Riverstone Razorbacks) as part of the annual NSWRL Volunteer of the Year Awards.

While all other community volunteer awards will be announced in July with the Gordon Lowrie Memorial Award for the overall 2022 Volunteer of the Year, supported by Ignite HQ, to be announced at the Brad Fittler Medal in September, the coach awards are determined prior to the Sydney State of Origin match. As part of their prize, Brookfield and Midolo were given tickets to attend the Ampol State of Origin in Sydney.

Both Brookfield and Midolo were nominated by parents from their respective clubs for their focus on creating a family environment. Brookfield was acknowledged for her contribution to growing participation significantly, in particular with the number of young girls registering to play, as well as supporting remote Aboriginal Communities earned her nomination,

“Cindy is such a positive role model, she teaches the value of teamwork and discipline and has shown the girls that they can achieve outcomes when they unite,” said Angelique Detheridge, one of the club parents. “She displays kindness and inclusion always going above and beyond her role.”

Midolo was recognised for the work he has been doing for his club as well as his players. He initiated a “player of the match” scheme reaching out to find sponsors to support the children as well as arranging transport and encouraging parents to participate in the training sessions.

Harvey Norman Sky Blues Women’s Origin coach Kylie Hilder said: “It is great to see the impact that these coaches are having in their communities.

“Teaching the correct skills, the value of teamwork and being a positive role model is important to the growth of our game.

“These young players look up to their coaching staff for guidance and I congratulate both Jai and Cindy for their efforts.”

The annual NSWRL Volunteer of the Year Awards recognise the invaluable contribution made by almost 30,000 people who give up their time as volunteers, officials, coaches and referees to ensure NSWRL is able to run Community Football at more than 700 clubs across the state. The awards also acknowledge the support given in the wider community as well as to the Rugby League community.

Nominations are still open for all other awards other than the coach awards.

To nominate click here.

  • NSWRL “Gordon Lowrie” Community Rugby League Volunteer of the Year - proudly supported by Ignite HQ (and 11 Regional Volunteer of the Year winners)
  • Community Rugby League Club of the Year - proudly supported by Steeden
  • Indigenous Volunteer of the Year - proudly supported by KARI Foundation
  • Inclusive Volunteer of the Year – proudly supported by Multicultural NSW
  • NSWRLRA “Dennis Braybrook” Community Official of the Year – proudly supported by McDonald's
Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.