You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Tedesco crowned 2022 RLPA Players' Champion

Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues captain James Tedesco has edged closer to another Kangaroos and Origin legend by winning his third Rugby League Players Association (RLPA) Players’ Champion award.

Tedesco’s win in 2022, following on from his 2017 and 2019 awards, puts him one short of Jonathan Thurston, whose four Players’ Champion honours give him the RLPA record currently.

From the NRLW, Roosters halfback and Kiwis international Raecene McGregor made it a bumper week for herself adding the RLPA Players’ Champion to her Dally M Medal win just four days earlier.

“On behalf of the RLPA, I would like to congratulate Raecene and James on this incredible recognition from their fellow players,” said Clint Newton, Chief Executive Officer of the RLPA.

“To be named by your peers as The Players’ Champion and the best player in your competition for that season is a remarkable and humbling honour.

“James has been one of the most outstanding players in the NRL for a number of years now, excelling at every level of the game from club, to Origin and to the international game,” he said.

“The fact that he has now won three Players’ Champion awards and is only one short of Thurston’s record is a testament to the quality of player and person that he is.”

Tedesco also enjoyed a successful week as he was announced the Dally M Fullback of the Year.

For the RLPA honour, he was one of five finalists – the others being fellow Brydens Lawyers NSW Blues squad member Nicho Hynes, Roosters teammate Joey Manu, and Maroons duo Ben Hunt and Cameron Munster.

It is a bulging trophy cabinet for Tedesco in 2022 as he won the NSWRL’s Brad Fittler Medal, the True Blue and The Daily Telegraph People’s Choice awards, alongside the Jack Gibson Medal for being the Roosters' best this season.

It’s not hard to argue that with Tedesco leading the NRL in tackle-breaks (169), being second in run metres (5,092m), scoring 13 tries, setting up 12 and making 17 line-breaks - the most of any fullback in the competition.

For McGregor she won the Players’ Champion up against three Harvey Norman NSW Sky Blues players in Sam Bremner, Isabelle Kelly and Simaima Taufa along with Roosters lock Keilee Joseph.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners