You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Three players pick up trebles in NSW Wheelchair awards

Wheelaroos players Cory Cannane, Diab Karim and Liam Luff have capped stellar seasons by winning three awards each at the NSW Wheelchair Rugby League end-of-season presentation night.

A total of 20 awards for players, coaches, officials and volunteers were announced at the function in Wenty Leagues at Wentworthville.

Cannane not only won the Top Try Scorer (17 tries) and Most Valuable Player for the St George Illawarra Dragons from the NSW Cup club competition, but he picked up NSW Wheelchair Blues Players’ Player.

Blues teammate Diab Karim won NSW Cup Top Points Scorer (124) and Top Goal Scorer (31 goals) along with jointly sharing the NSW Player of the Year award with Parramatta teammate Liam Luff.

Luff also collected the Most Valuable Player for the Eels and won the NSW Volunteer Award.

NSW Wheelchair Rugby League Chairman Edie George said the awards night recognising the game’s great people had been a long time coming.

NRL Photos: Liam Luff and Edie George
NRL Photos: Liam Luff and Edie George

“We're excited to be able to once again celebrate our players and volunteers with such an occasion,” he said.

“Our last major awards night was in 2019. So we are truly grateful for our members and they very much deserve to be recognised and rewarded.”

NSWRL Chief Executive David Trodden said the success of the Wheelaroos making the World Cup Semi-finals last November had lifted the profile of the wheelchair game substantially.

“And some of our NSW players are the among the highest-profile names in the sport,” Trodden said.

“It is great to have this opportunity again to celebrate not just the players but all those supporting them by working hard behind the scenes at our wheelchair Rugby League clubs.”

NRL Photos: Diab Karim (L)  and the NRL's John Wilson
NRL Photos: Diab Karim (L) and the NRL's John Wilson

The full list of award winners is:

Cup Awards

Top Try Scorer: Cory Cannane (St George Illawarra Dragons)

Top Goal Scorer: Diab Karim (Parramatta Eels)

Top Point Scorer: Diab Karim (Parramatta Eels)

NSW Player of the Year 

Liam Luff (Parramatta Eels)

Diab Karim (Parramatta Eels)

Most Valuable Player

Parramatta Eels - Liam Luff

West Tigers - Zac Carl

St George Illawarra Dragons - Cory Cannane

Plate Awards

Top Try Scorer Liam Moar (20 Tries; Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Top Goal Scorer Jacob Friedrich (11 Goals Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Top Point Scorer Liam Moar (88 Points Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Coaches Most Valuable Player

Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks - Liam Moar

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles - Cody Jeffs

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs - Jarrod Serwa

Penrith Panthers - Cherie Moulang

Achievement Awards

NSW Wheelchair Blues Players Player: Cory Cannane

Junior Player Award: Liam Moar

NSW Volunteer Award: Liam Luff

NSW Women In League Award: Kate Moar

Chairman Award: Deniz Karaca (Penrith Panthers)


Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners