You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Ryan and Hodkinson to spearhead 2023 Regional Roadshow

True Blues Andrew Ryan and Trent Hodkinson will spearhead the NSW Rugby League’s 2023 Regional Roadshow campaign which has already helped deliver positive messages about road safety to more than 4000 teenagers at 40 regional areas around the state since 2017.

The latest campaign, which is done in conjunction with Transport for NSW’s The Knock-on Effect initiative, will start on Tuesday 10 October and features a video with Westpac NSW Blues skipper James Tedesco, and teammates Josh Addo-Carr and Cameron Murray, encouraging road users to make smart choices.

“The NSWRL is proud to partner with Transport for NSW to deliver the Regional Roadshow around NSW as road tragedies can have a devastating effect on local communities,” NSWRL Chief Executive David Trodden said.

“We have had a number of True Blues devote their time to help deliver the campaign since it first started six years ago, while our Westpac NSW Blues stars are more than happy to be involved with the messaging to help reinforce its importance.”

This year’s campaign will kick-off over three days (10-12 October) and take in areas including Armidale, Guyra, Glen Innes and Inverell with further roadshows to be held next month at venues to be confirmed.

It will also include a video called ‘Decision Time’ with Tedesco, Addo-Carr and Murray choosing between categories like ‘Do dishes’ or ‘Cook dinner’, or ‘Ice Bath’ and ‘Sauna’ before the choices turn more serious to ‘Drive tired’ or ‘Take a break’, or ‘Look at your phone’ to ‘Focus on the road’.

Ryan, who played 12 games for the Blues, has coached the NSW Under 19s team to consecutive wins against Queensland in 2022-23, while Hodkinson, who represented his state six times, immortalised himself in NSW folklore after scoring a try to help end Queensland’s winning streak in 2014.

Other True Blues who have been involved in previous campaigns include Willie Mason, Matt Cooper, Mark O’Meley, Steve Menzies, Tim Brasher, Ben Elias, Jamie Soward, Mark Hughes, Beau Scott and Luke Bailey. The areas around the state that have been visited include Albury, Bathurst, Mudgee, Oberon, Wauchope, Blayney, Forbes, Leeton, Wagga Wagga, Port Macquarie, Coffs Harbour, Kempsey, Tamworth, Narromine, Griffith, Shellharbour, Maitland, Wyong, Taree, Tamworth, Lismore, Macksville, Taree, Queanbeyan, Kurri Kurri and Sydney.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners