You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content


Bruce Wallace and Keith Aggett were tonight awarded Life Membership to the New South Wales Rugby League at the annual Life Members dinner held at North Ryde Golf Club.

Both Bruce and Keith have been long time servants of the game with Bruce devoting his time to Schoolboy Rugby League and Keith significantly contributing to Rugby League in the Balmain Ryde-Eastwood District as a player, coach and administrator.

Rugby League has always been a game built on the back of hard work and devotion and the reason why the game is really starting to prosper is because of the hard work of people like Keith and Bruce," NSWRL CEO David Trodden said.

On behalf of the NSWRL Board, I would like to congratulate both Keith and Bruce on their distinguished careers in the game and I hope they enjoyed the evening."

For full bios on Bruce and Keith please keep reading:

Bruce Wallace

Bruce is the longest serving president in the history of the Australian Schoolboys Rugby League, having held this position from 1996-2012. He has coached school teams at Newtown Junior Technical High, Warilla High and Nowra High, and has also coached junior league teams in the Newtown, South Sydney and Eastern Suburbs Districts and was the Illawarra Steelers Jersey Flegg Coach in 1991 and 1992.

He was a member of the NSWRL Coaching and Development Policy Committee for 12 years (1983-1995) and would still be a member but for transferring in his teaching role to Nowra High, which made attendance at Sydney meetings very difficult. He was the longest serving member of that Committee. He has been a member of the Australian Rugby League Development Council since its inception in 2000 to 2012 (13 years) and was a foundation member of the National Rugby League Player Agents Committee in 2002 and is still serving on that committee.

Bruce has devoted many years to New South Wales Combined High Schools Rugby League. He was their convenor of rugby league at zone, region, state and national levels and he coached at all levels. He coached their state teams, both 15 years and opens from 1987 to 1990 and coached the Australian Schoolboys teams from 1993 to 1995.

During his 17 years as President for the ASSRL, he has overseen many initiatives and also structural changes to the conduct of the Australian Championships. Some examples of initiatives include Incorporation, Constitution revision, Operations Manual, templates and guidelines for Championship hosting, Most Valuable Player Awards at Championships and updated the dress apparel for executive. He has been instrumental in strengthening links with the various Rugby League controlling bodies/administrators internationally and domestically. He also established the protocols and procedures for junior elite international tours.

Bruce is a Life Member of Bligh Zone Sports Association, New South Wales Combined High Schools Rugby League and the Australian Secondary Schools Rugby League bestowed Life Membership on him in 2009. Bruce has made a remarkable contribution to the development of hundreds of young Australians through his dedication to Rugby League and the Australian Secondary Schools Rugby League over a long period.

It must also be mentioned that Bruces efforts in Rugby League have all been on a voluntary basis, with teaching being his professional career.

His outstanding contribution over many years makes him a very worthy recipient for Life Membership of the NSWRL.

Keith Aggett

As a first grade player, coach, administrator and adviser, Keith Aggett has devoted 67 years to the game of Rugby League.

Keith played Presidents Cup for Balmain in 1951 and for the Premier side in 1952. In 1953 he transferred to the Parramatta Football Club and played first grade from 1953-55. He returned to the Balmain Football Club in 1956 and played first grade until his retirement in 1957.

At the completion of his first grade playing career Keith turned his hand to coaching and spent the next 13 years as coach of various schoolboy, junior league and second division competition teams; winning six premierships.

Keith became the inaugural Director of the Ryde-Eastwood Leagues club in 1963 and has held the position of President for the last 13 years.

Keith has also been the secretary to the Ryde-Eastwood second division team for the past 48 years and has been a delegate to the NSWRL second division and metropolitan cup administration for 32 years.

Honours bestowed upon Keith to this date:

Life Membership Ryde-Eastwood District Rugby League Football Club

Life Membership Ryde-Eastwood Leagues Club

Life Membership Balmain District Rugby League Football Club

Awarded Australian Sport Medal 2000

Jack Martin Award Association of Leagues Clubs

Tom Bellew Award Services to Metropolitan Clubs

Click here to see the 2014 NSWRL Annual Report

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.