You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

More than 650 attended this year’s Brad Fittler Medal, recognising the achievements of players across all NSWRL teams and competitions, from Origin to seniors, juniors, women and Indigenous, as well as the contributions of referees and club officials.

Josh Jackson was named as the VB Blues best player in 2016 by his teammates and coach Laurie Daley, an award that players cherish the most when voted by the peers they go into battle with in the State of Origin arena. 

Jackson joins previous winners of the prestigious award including Josh Dugan, Jarryd Hayne, Paul Gallen, Robbie Farah and Ryan Hoffman.

Full list of award winners:

U16s NSW State Player of the Year - Lindsay Smith (Penrith Panthers)
U18s NSW State Player of the Year - Sean O’Sullivan (Penrith Panthers)
Junior Representative Referee of the Year - Jake Sutherland (Central Coast)
Grade Referee of the Year - Ryan Jackson (Illawarra)
Ray Stellar Award - Neil Lovett (Illawarra Cutters)
Kari Indigenous Achievement Award - Mathew Smith (Newcastle Knights)
Sydney Shield Player of the Year - Jake Pickering (Peninsula Seagulls)
Ron Massey Cup Player of the Year - Brendan Waters (Western Suburbs Magpies)
Intrust Super Premiership NSW Player of the Year - Sam Williams (Mounties)
U20s NSW State Player of the Year - Bayley Sironen (Wests Tigers)
Women’s NSW State Player of the Year - Kezie Apps (Helensburgh)
The Daily Telegraph People’s Choice Award - Tyson Frizell (St George Illawarra Dragons)
True Blue Award - Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
Brad Fittler Medal Winner - Josh Jackson (Canterbury Bulldogs)

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners