You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Four days after his brother’s World Cup campaign ended in heartache, Tom Trbojevic has celebrated his maiden Kangaroos selection as one of four debutants named in the Kangaroos side for Friday’s clash with France in Canberra.

Trbojevic - who was a feature of the NSW Blues extended squad in 2017 - will make his debut on the wing in place of Cronulla's Valentine Holmes.

The Kangaroos have made six changes from the team that knocked off England in the World Cup opener, with coach Mal Meninga rotating his squad.

Trbojevic, whose brother Jake will this week go under the knife to repair a torn pectoral tendon, has been selected as part of a new-look wingers combination, joining Josh Mansour in the side as Holmes and Dane Gagai are rested.

Penrith prop Reagan Campbell-Gillard will get his first chance to wear the green and gold, partnering Jordan McLean in the front row.

Melbourne duo Cameron Munster and Felise Kaufusi will get their first taste of international football off the bench for the Kangaroos, joining Aaron Woods and David Klemmer as Australia’s substitutes.

Cameron Smith will go past Clive Churchill as the player with the most consecutive Test matches for Australia on Friday night, named in the starting side for what will be his 36th straight appearance in green and gold.

Mansour will fly home on Tuesday night to be with his pregnant wife, who will be induced on Wednesday, but is expected to return later in the week to take his place in the starting side.

Ben Hunt is the only member of the 24-man squad yet to play a game after having been granted the weekend off to get married. He is expected to play against Lebanon in Sydney next Saturday.

Cooper Cronk, Boyd Cordner, Matt Gillett, Dane Gagai, Valentine Holmes and Jake Trbojevic are the six omissions from the team that defeated Wayne Bennett’s England 18-4 in the tournament opener in Melbourne last Friday night.

Kangaroos Team List:

Billy Slater, Tom Trbojevic, Will Chambers, Josh Dugan, Josh Mansour, Michael Morgan, James Maloney, Jordan McLean, Cameron Smith, Reagan Campbell-Gillard, Wade Graham, Tyson Frizell, Josh McGuire. Bench: Cameron Munster, Felise Kaufusi, Aaron Woods, David Klemmer. Reserves: Valentine Holmes, Matt Gillett, Dane Gagai, Boyd Cordner

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.