You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NSW dominate Jillaroos merit team

Jillaroos selectors have named a Harvey Norman Jillaroos merit team, following the second successful Holden Women’s State of Origin match last Friday.

Jillaroos coach Brad Donald congratulated the team, saying this year’s Origin match was one of the best matches he had witnessed since commencing as Jillaroos coach in 2016.

“The skill level of our elite female athletes continues to get better and better and I was so proud of the efforts of every player competing for their respective states,” Mr Donald said.

“We’re in a building phase as we start to focus on the 2021 Rugby League World Cup and you can sense between the elite players that there is a healthy level of competition for spots.

“Throw in the talent coming through the Pathways programs, many of whom featured in the Under 18’s fixture on Friday night, and it’s the future is bright for women’s rugby league. 

“Those in this merit team deserve their place and recognition, as we prepare for plenty more rugby league this year, including the Premiership, a Nines Tournament and a Test Match.”

NRL General Manager of the Women’s Elite Program, Tiffany Slater said the Women’s Origin match had attracted a significant increase in fan attendance and TV audience year on year.

“More than 10,500 fans witnessed a rivalry without rival last Friday night at North Sydney Oval, with a million people tuning in,” Ms Slater said.

“It was fantastic to see men, women and children of all ages supporting the fastest growing area of our game – women’s rugby league – and particularly at the end of the match, when thousands of fans rushed onto the field to greet their heroes that had just been part of a thrilling match. 

“I have no doubt that the quality and support of Women’s Origin will continue to increase and the best news is that there’s still plenty of women’s rugby league to be played this year.”

 The 2019 Harvey Norman Jillaroos Merit Team is as follows:

1. Corban McGregor
2. Jess Sergis
3. Amber Pilley
4. Isabelle Kelly
5. Steph Mooka
6. Kirra Dibb
7. Maddie Studdon
8. Chelsea Lenarduzzi
9. Brittany Breayley  
10. Simaima Taufa
11. Holli Wheeler
12. Annette Brander
13. Hannah Southwell
14. Ali Brigginshaw
15. Millie Boyle
16. Steph Hancock
17. Botille Vette-Welsh

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners