You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Four Rugby League administrators are among 933 Australians to be recognised today in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List.

Peter Arnold (Nelson Bay), Mike Bailey (Western Suburbs), Kevin Hardy (Taree) and Kevin Ingram (Mounties) have been awarded the Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for service worthy of particular recognition.

Arnold has been involved with Rugby League for 40 years. He joined the Nelson Bay Rugby League Club in 1981 and remained there for 20 years. He helped the club gain admission to the Newcastle competition in 1989 during his 12-year stint as President. He has volunteered for the Men of League Foundation for the past 14 years and helped establish the Port Stephens Branch.

Bailey’s love for Rugby League started at an early age after growing up three doors down from Western Suburbs Magpies and Australian halfback Keith Holman. He is the Deputy Chairman of Wests Magpies and a former Board member and Chairman of Wests Tigers. He is also a former print and radio journalist, who was recognised for services to Rugby League and the community.

Hardy is a member of the Group Three Hall of Fame and had an illustrious career as a player, captain-coach and coach with Taree United, Group Three and North Coast. He took on the role of President of Group Three Junior League in 1984 and stood down from the position in 2017. He was also appointed Vice President of Group Three in 1984 and served as a Country selector for 20 years.

Ingram has been a member of Mounties since 1972 and has played a role on the Board of Directors since 1980 to make him the longest-serving director. He became Club President in 2003 and has been heavily involved throughout many areas of the group. He was instrumental in facilitating a partnership with the Canberra Raiders NRL club in 2011.