You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
NSWRL finalists in prestigious Sport NSW Awards

NSW Rugby League (NSWRL) has been announced as a finalist in two categories for the 2022 NSW Sports Awards. 

Recognised for another strong year both on and off the field, the finalists include the NSW Sky Blues Women’s Origin team for Team of the Year and the NSW Rugby League for Organisation of the Year.

NSWRL this year claimed four of the major elite trophies including, Under 19s Women, Under 19s Men and Open Women in the State of Origin series and the Penrith Panthers won the NRL State Championship.

Winning the Ampol Women’s State of Origin match for the fifth time in seven years, the NSW Sky Blues, had an all-female coaching staff for the first time, including head coach Kylie Hilder, and assistants Ruan Sims and Kate Mullaly.

The Sky Blues continue to inspire a generation of girls and women to play Rugby League, with participation numbers exceeding 20,000 which continues to rise year on year.

Grassroots participation is almost at 106,000 across the state with growth recorded in the Northern Rivers, even after the devastating floods. The NSWRL board announced a flood relief package worth more than $600,000 to assist Rugby League communities, particularly those in Northern NSW.

More than 26,500 volunteers continue to give up their time at 800 clubs with several of our volunteers recognised nationally for their efforts including Community Club of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, Indigenous Volunteer of the Year, and Women in League Award.

This year NSWRL established new competitions and partnerships with the introduction of the President's Cup; True Blue Paul Langmack attracted Government funding to host Changing Rooms, a mental fitness program that has now been delivered to more than 2000 children in Regional NSW; and NSW Blues Coach Brad Fittler held leadership programs for high school students at university campuses throughout NSW.

The NSWRL ran an innovative pilot program for Women in Sport Leadership in conjunction with The University of New England in 2021-22, which has now led to female leaders from across 11 sports becoming involved in 2022.

The awards represent NSW’s highest sports honours across 12 categories with the winners announced at the NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony at the International Convention and Exhibition Centre in Darling Harbour on Monday 28 November.

Other finalists in these categories include: 

Team of the Year 

  • Australian Junior Men’s Coxed Four - St Augustine’s College Crew (Rowing)
  • NSW Sky Blues Women’s Origin Team (Rugby League)
  • Penrith Panthers (Rugby League)
  • North Cronulla Open Beach Relay Team (Surf Life Saving)
  • Sydney Kings (Basketball)
  • Wests Tigers Women’s Team (Rugby League)

Organisation of the Year 

  • Football NSW
  • NSW Rugby League
  • Little Athletics NSW
  • Volleyball NSW
  • Wheelchair Sports NSW/ACT
Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners