You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

Since 1970, the NSW Tertiary Rugby League has provided a platform for players to develop within NSW Universities, TAFE and other tertiary institutions. Now hosting a 10-week competition, with a 3-week finals series, the NSW Tertiary operates as a singular competition, known as the Tertiary Championship.

The Tertiary Championship is currently held by the TAFE NSW Polecats. The Second Division (last offered in 2018), named the Bill Buckley Memorial Trophy in honour of the former NSWRL and ARL Administrator, saw the Macquarie University Warriors take the premiership in 2018.

The NSW Tertiary Rugby also boasts a representative pathway for participating players within the League. The Interstate challenge, which was won by NSW 20-10 in 2019. 

For more information on the NSW Tertiary Rugby League, click here.

First Division: Tertiary Championship

Founded: 1970
Clubs: 4
Most Successful Club: TAFE NSW Polecats (18 premierships)
Most Recent Premiers: TAFE NSW Polecats
Hashtag: #TertiaryRL

Year Premiers
1970 Sydney University
1971 Alexander Mackie College
1972 Alexander Mackie College
1973 Alexander Mackie College
1974 Alexander Mackie College
1975 TAFE NSW Polecats
1976 TAFE NSW Polecats
1977 Teachers Club
1978 Sydney University
1979 Nepean CAE, Kingswood
1980 Mount Saint Mary
1981 Mount Saint Mary
1982 Nepean CAE, Kingswood
1983 TAFE NSW Polecats
1984 Macquarie University
1985 TAFE NSW Polecats
1986 Wollongong University
1987 TAFE NSW Polecats
1988 Macquarie University
1989 TAFE NSW Polecats
1990 University of NSW
1991 University of NSW
1992 TAFE NSW Polecats
1993 TAFE NSW Polecats
1994 TAFE NSW Polecats
1995 UTS Tigers
1996 TAFE NSW Polecats
1997 UTS Tigers
1998 Cumberland College
1999 TAFE NSW Polecats
2000 Sydney University
2001 UTS Tigers
2002 Sydney University
2003 TAFE NSW Polecats
2004 UTS Tigers
2005 TAFE NSW Polecats
2006 UTS Tigers
2007 UTS Tigers
2008 TAFE NSW Polecats
2009 UTS Tigers
2010 West Sydney Blues
2011 Lewisham Old Boys
2012 TAFE NSW Polecats
2013 Railcorp
2014 UTS Tigers
2015 TAFE NSW Polecats
2016 UTS Tigers
2017 TAFE NSW Polecats
2018 University of Sydney 
2019 TAFE NSW Polecats

Second Division: Bill Buckley Memorial Trophy

Founded: 1973
Clubs: 4
Most Successful Club: Sydney University and Macquarie University (7 premierships each)
Most Recent Premiers: Macquarie University Warriors
Hashtag: #TertiaryRL

Year Premiers
1973 NSW Institute of Technology
1974 Sydney University
1975 Sydney University
1976 Sydney University Vet Science
1977 Sydney University
1978 Sydney University
1979 Kuring-gai CAE
1980 Macquarie University
1981 Catholic College of Education
1982 State Rail
1983 NSW Institute of Technology
1984 State Rail
1985 North Sydney Technical College
1986 Macquarie University
1987 State Rail
1988 Macquarie University
1989 Catholic College of Education
1990 Macquarie University
1991 Cumberland College
1992 Newcastle University
1993 University of NSW
1994 University of NSW
1995 Sydney University
1996 ACU Castle Hill
1997 ACU Castle Hill
1998 Charles Sturt University Bathurst
1999 UTS Tigers
2000 University of NSW
2001 Macquarie University
2002 UWS Macarthur
2003 Macquarie University
2004 Cumberland College
2005 UWS Macarthur
2006 Macquarie University
2007 Sydney University
2008 Newcastle University
2009 Charles Sturt University Bathurst
2010 Cumberland Beavers
2011 UTS Tigers
2012 UTS Tigers
2013 Cumberland Beavers
2014 UWS Ducks
2015 Cumberland Beavers
2016 UC Grizzlies
2017 UTS Tigers
2018 Macquarie University Warriors
2019 No competition offered
Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.