You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

After competing in the first two NSWRL Premiership in 1908 and 1909, the Newcastle Rugby League broke away to form the local competition in 1910.

The four original teams were Central Newcastle, Northern Suburbs, South Newcastle and Western Suburbs. The inaugural grand final was played in front of 2,500 spectators at Hamilton League Ground, with Central Newcastle overcoming South Newcastle 13-4.

Click here to visit the Tooheys Newcastle Rugby League website

Today, the Tooheys Newcastle Rugby League continues to provide a platform for the best emerging talent in the Hunter - and in 2018 its senior competition will realign with the NSWRL. The affiliation includes the first grade competition, the Business Plaza Cup, while the Tooheys Newcastle Rugby League also fields a representative side, the Newcastle Rebels, while also providing players to the Newcastle Knights in the Intrust Super Premiership NSW and NRL Telstra Premiership.

Western Suburbs remain the competition’s most decorated club, with 22 premierships in the league’s 108-year history, while defending champions Macquarie Scorpions won their maiden title in 2017.

Founded: 1910
Clubs: 8
Feeds Into: Intrust Super Premiership NSW
Most Successful Club: Western Suburbs Rosellas (22 premierships)
Current Premiers: Macquarie Scorpions
Hashtag: #NewcastleRL

Year Premiers Runners-Up 
1910  Central Newcastle South Newcastle
1911 Northern Suburbs Central Newcastle
1912  Western Suburbs Eastern Suburbs
1913  Eastern Suburbs Western Suburbs
1914  Northern Suburbs Central Newcastle
1915  Western Suburbs Northern Suburbs
1916  Western Suburbs Northern Suburbs
1917  No Competition    
1919  South Newcastle Western Suburbs
1920  Northern Suburbs South Newcastle
1921  Central Newcastle Western Suburbs
1922  Western Suburbs Central Newcastle
1923  Eastern Suburbs Northern Suburbs
1924  Eastern Suburbs Northern Suburbs
1925  Northern Suburbs Eastern Suburbs
1926  Northern Suburbs South Newcastle
1927  South Newcastle Northern Suburbs
1928  Central Newcastle Northern Suburbs
1929 Northern Suburbs Waratah-Mayfield
1930  Central Newcastle South Newcastle
1931  Kurri Kurri Northern Suburbs
1932  Eastern Suburbs Cessnock
1933  Maitland United Waratah-Mayfield
1934  Maitland United Waratah-Mayfield
1935  Northern Suburbs Central Newcastle
1936  Waratah-Mayfield Cessnock
1937  Central Newcastle Cessnock
1938  Northern Suburbs  Waratah-Mayfield
1939  Central Newcastle Western Suburbs
1940  Kurri Kurri Cessnock
1941  Cessnock South Newcastle
1942  Waratah-Mayfield South Newcastle
1943  South Newcastle Waratah-Mayfield
1944  Waratah-Mayfield Western Suburbs
1945  Kurri Kurri South Newcastle
1946  South Newcastle Western Suburbs
1947  Lakes United Northern Suburbs
1948  Northern Suburbs Kurri Kurri
1949  Central Newcastle Kurri Kurri
1950  Cessnock Central Newcastle
1951  Northern Suburbs Maitland
1952  Waratah-Mayfield Lakes United
1953  Northern Suburbs Cessnock
1954  Cessnock Maitland
1955  Cessnock Maitland
1956  Maitland Cessnock
1957  Maitland Kurri Kurri
1958  Maitland Cessnock
1959  Northern Suburbs Maitland
1960  Cessnock Maitland
1961  Western Suburbs Waratah-Mayfield
1962  Northern Suburbs South Newcastle
1963  South Newcastle Central Newcastle
1964  South Newcastle Western Suburbs
1965  Maitland South Newcastle
1966  Western Suburbs Cessnock
1967  Northern Suburbs Western Suburbs
1968  South Newcastle Lakes United
1969  Maitland Lakes United
1970  Western Suburbs Maitland
1971  Maitland Lakes United
1972  Cessnock Maitland
1973  Maitland Western Suburbs
1974  Lakes United Western Suburbs
1975  Lakes United Western Suburbs
1976  South Newcastle Western Suburbs
1977  Cessnock Maitland
1978  Western Suburbs South Newcastle
1979  Northern Suburbs Cessnock
1980  Western Suburbs Cessnock
1981  Western Suburbs Cessnock
1982  Western Suburbs Kurri Kurri
1983  Maitland Cessnock
1984  Western Suburbs Lakes United
1985  Lakes United Cessnock
1986  Lakes United South Newcastle
1987  Lakes United South Newcastle
1988  South Newcastle Lakes United
1989  South Newcastle Western Suburbs
1990  Waratah-Mayfield Lakes United
1991  Toronto Workers Western Suburbs
1992  Western Suburbs Lakes United
1993  Kurri Kurri Western Suburbs
1994  Kurri Kurri Toronto Workers
1995  Kurri Kurri  Western Suburbs
1996  Lakes United Western Suburbs
1997  Western Suburbs Lakes United
1998  Western Suburbs South Newcastle
1999  Western Suburbs Cessnock
2000  Waratah-Mayfield Lakes United
2001  Lakes United Western Suburbs
2002  Western Suburbs Lakes United
2003  Cessnock Raymond Terrace
2004  Western Suburbs Northern Blues
2005  Northern Blues Western Suburbs
2006  Lakes United Nelson Bay
2007  Lakes United Wyong
2008  Western Suburbs Cessnock
2009  Wyong Cessnock
2010 Maitland Cessnock
2011 Maitland Western Suburbs
2012 Western Suburbs Cessnock
2013 Western Suburbs Kurri Kurri
2014 Western Suburbs Cessnock
2015 Lakes United Macquarie
2016 South Newcastle Macquarie
2017 Macquarie Western Suburbs

2018 Clubs