You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content

In a move which will have huge ramifications for the Rugby League World Cup, NSW VB Blues player Andrew Fifita has today opted to represent Tonga - one day after being selected for Australia.

Fifita, who has worn the green and gold on seven occasions including the Trans-Tasman Test in May this year, follows in the footsteps of rampaging Cowboys lock Jason Taumalolo, who will also play for the second-tier nation in the tournament later this month.

It will be Fifita's first time representing Tonga, while brother David played for them on one occasion in 2016 and is a strong chance of being a selected once again. Changes to international eligibility rules in 2017 mean Fifita will still be available for State of Origin selection next year.

In turn, Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga has called the Penrith Panthers' Reagan Campbell-Gillard into the Australian squad, explaining that it is a positive move for the international game.

"Andrew called me and said he was passionate about playing for Tonga and I respect and support that decision," Meninga said.

"It is obviously a significant boost for Tonga as well as the World Cup – and international Rugby League in general.

"At the same time it is also a great opportunity for someone like Reagan, who has been outstanding for the Panthers.

"I’m extremely excited about seeing Reagan in a Kangaroos jersey."

Meanwhile, Darius Boyd has withdrawn from the World Cup due to a hamstring injury, with former NSW VB Blues winger Josh Mansour brought in as his replacement. The news caps an impressive return for Mansour, who was devastatingly ruled out of the 2016 Rugby League Four Nations after suffering a ruptured ACL in training.

"It will be wonderful to see Josh back in the Kangaroos jersey after his injury in last year’s Four Nations," Meninga said.

"I know how disappointed he was to be injured last year and I know how passionate he is about the green and gold.

"It is a credit to him that he has been able to return to the highest representative honours."

The updated Kangaroos squad is as follows:

Reagan Campbell-Gillard
Will Chambers
Boyd Cordner (vc)
Cooper Cronk
Josh Dugan
Tyson Frizell
Dane Gagai
Matt Gillett
Wade Graham
Valentine Holmes
Ben Hunt
Felise Kaufusi
David Klemmer
Josh McGuire
James Maloney
Josh Mansour
Jordan McLean
Michael Morgan
Cameron Munster
Billy Slater
Cameron Smith (c)
Jake Trbojevic
Tom Trbojevic
Aaron Woods

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners