You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
: Rugby League World Cup - Fiji v France @ WIN Staium, Sat 1st of NOV 2008. digi image by Grant Trouville © Action Photographics.

It was the career-changing experience he needed some nine years ago and in 2017, Jarryd Hayne will once against line up for the Fiji Bati in the Rugby League World Cup.

The 2008 season was considered a poor one by Hayne's lofty standards, who scored just six tries for the Eels and was overlooked for his incumbent Kangaroos place for the end-of-season World Cup held in Australia. Qualifying for Fiji via his father's heritage, Hayne opted to represent the Bati and has long credited it for a form reversal which saw him take out the Dally M Player of the Year in 2009.

Since a return from rugby sevens - a code in which he also represented Fiji - last season, Hayne has displayed patches of brilliance without recapturing the form he enjoyed before leaving Rugby League in 2014. On the eve of the 2017 World Cup, the incumbent NSW VB Blues centre will once again represent the Pacific nation.

Fiji's squad boasts a host of NRL talent, also including Suliasi Vunivalu, Kane Evans, Apisai Koroisau, Marcelo Montoya, Kevin Naiqama and former VB Blues winger Aquila Uate, with Naiqama to captain the side. Their World Cup campaign will commence on Saturday, 28 October against the USA at Townsville Stadium.

The Fiji World Cup squad is as follows:

Kane Evans - Sydney Roosters 
Salesi Faingaa - Parramatta Eels 
Jarryd Hayne - Gold Coast Titans 
Tui Kamikamica - Melbourne Storm/ SC Falcons 
Villiame Kikau - Penrith Panthers 
Apisai Koroisau - Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 
Joe Lovadua - St George-Illawarra Dragons 
Henry Raiwalui - Mounties RLFC 
Taane Milne - St George-Illawarra Dragons/ Illawarra RLFC 
Sitiveni Moceidreke - South Sydney Rabbitohs/ North Sydney Bears 
Marcelo Montoya - Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs 
Kevin Naiqama (c) - Wests Tigers 
Ben Nakubuwai - Gold Coast Titans/ Tweed Heads Seagulls 
Mikaele Ravalawa - Canberra Raiders 
Junior Roqica - London Broncos 
Jacob Saifiti - Newcastle Knights 
Ashton Sims - Warrington Wolves 
Korbin Sims - Brisbane Broncos 
Pio Seci - Nabua Broncos 
James Storer - Port Kembla Blacks 
Akuila Uate - Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles 
Eloni Vunakece - Sydney Roosters/ Wyong Roos 
Suliasi Vunivalu - Melbourne Storm 
Brayden Wiliame - Catalans Dragons 
Standby Replacement:
Etuate Bola - Nabua Broncos

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners