You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Peter Corcoran awarded AM

Peter Corcoran, who has been instrumental in the NSWRL’s coaching and development work and is best known as the founder of mini and mod-league, has formally received his Order of Australia Medal at Government House today.

Corcoran was one of four long-serving administrators for Rugby League in NSW - alongside Arthur Coorey, Jack King and Warren Lockwood – who was recognised in the 2019 Queen’s Birthday Honours list in June for their service to the game.

He was joined by other recipients at Government House today to receive his OAM from the Governor of New South Wales, Her Excellency the Honourable Margaret Beazley AO QC, at an official ceremony at Government House in Sydney.

“Peter Corcoran has been a tireless servant to Rugby League for a number of decades and has had a profound influence on the game at many levels,” NSWRL Chief Executive David Trodden said.

“I know he would be extremely humbled by this honour and the NSWRL would like to congratulate him for this recognition that is well deserved.”

Corcoran, who was also a former chairman of the Newcastle Knights, has dedicated his life to serving the 13-man code in an array of roles.

He was responsible, alongside Paul Broughton, OAM, for running a Junior Rugby League clinic at Armidale in the 1980s.

The clinic attracted some of the biggest names to have played and coached the game including Andrew and Matthew Johns, Wayne Pearce, Wayne Bennett and Tommy Raudonikis.

Corcoran also introduced mini and mod league in 1982 in his role as the Australian Rugby League’s coaching director in a move that revolutionised Junior Rugby League.

The innovations included reducing the size of the field, new formats for age groups and a two-pass rule designed to promote open play.

Corcoran was awarded the Member of the Order of Australia in 1988 and has had a long and distinguished career as an administrator and coach, including chairman of the Australian Coaching Council (1982-97), head coach of the Australian Rugby League's National Youth Squad (1983-2000), chairman of the Australian Student Rugby League (1990-1998), treasurer of the NSW Sports Federation (1999-2008) and chairman of the NSW Sport and Recreation's Industry Standing Committee (2005-2008).

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners