You have skipped the navigation, tab for page content
Female Pathway Strengthens for 2018

In the lead-up to the 2018 Rugby League season, the pathway for women and girls has been strengthened yet again with the formation of a complete NSWRL participation and elite representative system.

Following on from a successful 2017, which saw the inaugural Tarsha Gale Cup and the Harvey Norman NSW Women's Premiership expanded into two 13-a-side divisions, the NSWRL will implement further changes to cater for significant increases in female participation. The major additional features of the female pathway are:

  • Women's and girls competitions are available for under-14s, under-16s, under-18s and open-age divisions in all NSWRL districts
  • Girls competitions are now also available in the Penrith District for under-6s to under-12s
  • The Under-16s Lisa Fiaola Cup Gala Day, scheduled for 14 July, completing the junior representative pathway for girls in the age group below the Tarsha Gale Cup
  • Five existing NRL and Intrust Super Premiership NSW clubs will now field teams in the Harvey Norman NSW Women's Premiership, increasing the competition to nine teams

Named after former Harvey Norman NSW Women's and Jillaroos representative Lisa Fiaola, the under-16s gala day will give more girls than ever before a taste of junior representative Rugby League as they aim to impress before they reach the under-18s age group. The second season of the Tarsha Gale Cup will commence alongside boys' junior representative competitions on 10 February and has increased to 11 teams:

  • Canberra Raiders
  • Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
  • Cronulla Sharks
  • Illawarra Steelers
  • Newcastle Knights
  • Parramatta Eels
  • Penrith Panthers
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • St George Dragons
  • Sydney Roosters Indigenous Academy
  • Wests Tigers

In 2018, the open's age group has also had a revamp. The division 2 Harvey Norman NSW Women's Combined Championship will feature several of the teams competing in the top division in 2017, while several NRL, Intrust Super Premiership NSW and Ron Massey Cup franchises will now be involved in the Harvey Norman NSW Women's Premiership:

  • Cabramatta
  • Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs
  • Brothers Penrith
  • South Sydney Rabbitohs
  • North Sydney Bears
  • Wentworthville Magpies
  • Mounties
  • Newcastle
  • Cronulla-Caringbah Sharks

A full explanation of the 2018 NSWRL Female Rugby League Pathway can be found below.

Acknowledgement of Country

New South Wales Rugby League respects and honours the Traditional Custodians of the land and pay our respects to their Elders past, present and future. We acknowledge the stories, traditions and living cultures of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples on the lands we meet, gather and play on.

Platinum Partner

Major Partners

View All Partners